Governance & Officers

In Spring 2014, the Southern California Writing Centers Association confirmed its Constitution. Officers revised SoCal WCA’s Constitution and Bylaws in 2018.

For minutes of our meetings, please contact our Secretary, Lori Sundgren.

To join our listerv, please email Giselle Miralles.

To search our listserv, click here. (Note that you need to be a member of the listserv to search; you can sign in with the email address you gave us, even if it is not a Gmail address.)


Serving on the SoCal WCA board is not an enormous time commitment, and it has real advantages, for the organization and for the board member. Certainly, this organization could not persist without dedicated board members to keep it functioning. Board membership can also be a boon to you on your campus and in the wider writing center community. Contact any of the officers to learn more about what their position entails. We are also always searching for members to help review proposals and mentor students for the annual tutor conference.

Current Southern California Writing Centers Association Officers (positions rotate on July 1st)

President: Kim Arbolante, Bakersfield College (term expires in 2024)

Vice-President: Debbie Goss, Soka University of America (term expires in 2024)

Past President: Percival Guevarra, University of California, Irvine (term expires in 2024)

Secretary: Lori Sundgren, Taft College (term expires in 2025)

Treasurer: Jess Rodil, California Lutheran University (term expires in 2025)

Web Editor: Giselle Miralles, Pasadena City College (term expires in 2024)

Two-Year College Representative: Christopher Glover, El Camino College (term expires in 2025)

IWCA Representative: Kat Bell, Antioch University (term expires in 2025)

Proposal Review Co-Chairs: Jay Spencer, University of California, Riverside (term expires in 2025) and Jane Coulter, University of California, San Diego (term expires in 2025)

Tutor Representative: Maggie Cordner, Soka University of America (term expires in 2024)

Secondary School Representative: Maja Starcevic, Windward School (term expires in 2025)