Scholarships & Grants


SoCal WCA Treasurer Denise Stephenson presenting the organization’s first scholarship checks to Scott Chiu and Jen Lagedrost (Cal Lutheran) and Tyler McLees (Nevada State College, with Katheryn Tucker) at the 2014 IWCA/NCPTW conference in Orlando.

The Southern California Writing Centers Association is pleased to offer two types of grants and scholarships: 1) travel grants to IWCA conference and NCPTW and 2) a scholarship to the IWCA Summer Institute (Nashville, TN, dates TBD). The deadline for applying for these scholarships is February 15, 2019. You will be notified of the Scholarship Committee’s decision on your application by March 1, 2019.

There will be three travel grants/scholarships available from SoCal WCA for the 2019 Conference Season:

  • $500 for a professional staff/faculty member attending the 2019 IWCA Summer Institute;
  • $500 for a professional staff/faculty member attending the 2019 IWCA or other relevant conference;
  • $500 for a student tutor (undergraduate or graduate) presenting at the 2019 IWCA, NCPTW, or other relevant conference. (A group of tutors may also apply, with the $500 to be divided between them should they be selected for the scholarship.)

For both the professional and the student scholarships, we will favor applications from applicants from traditionally underrepresented groups. For the professional scholarships, preference will also be given to part-time and contingent staff members who are not eligible for institutional funding. Please note as well that the scholarship committee will give preference to applications from institutions that have not previously been awarded a SoCal WCA travel scholarship.

Applications were due February 15.


Congratulations to all the previous SoCal WCA Travel Grant and Scholarship winners!

  • Deborah Escalante, Azusa Pacific University (2018 IWCA Summer Institute)
  • Percival Guevarra, UC Irvine (2018 American Association of Applied Linguistics Conference)
  • Kerri McCanna, UC Irvine (2018 International Center for Academic Integrity Conference)
  • Emma Saturday, University of LaVerne (2017 IWCA Conference)
  • Wendy Rider, Antelope Valley College (2017 IWCA Summer Institute)
  • Sue Cross, UCI (2016 IWCA Conference)
  • Jordan Jenkins, Pitzer College (2016 IWCA Conference)
  • Tanvi Patel, California Lutheran University (2016 IWCA Summer Institute)
  • Christine Holten, UCLA (2015 IWCA Summer Institute)
  • Kathryn Tucker, Nevada State¬†College (2015 IWCA Summer Institute)
  • Andrea Scott, Pitzer College (2015 IWCA Conference)
  • Scott Chiu, California Lutheran University (2014 IWCA Conference)
  • Jen Lagedrost, California Lutheran University¬†(2014 IWCA Conference)
  • Tyler McLees, Nevada State College¬†(2014 IWCA Conference)